BLANK

How old do I have to be and how much does it cost to legally change my name?

How old do I have to be and how much does it cost to legally change my name?

In Utah, where I practice, you can have your name changed at any age, but if you are not an adult, you need your parent or guardian’s permission to change your name.

The cost of the filing fee to file a petition for name change with the court is, as of this writing, $360.

If you are divorcing you can ask the court to change your name as part of the divorce action (and you aren’t limited to changing your name to your maiden name only–you could choose a name you’ve never had before, as long as you don’t choose a name that is bizarre, unduly lengthy, ridiculous, or offensive to common decency and good taste, and as long as you’re not seeking a name change to avoid creditors, fines, or sentences in criminal actions, for an unworthy motive, or to commit fraud), without having to file a separate court action or having to pay a separate filing fee.

The laws in Utah governing a name change are found here: Utah Code Title 42, Chapter 1

Utah Family Law, LC | divorceutah.com | 801-466-9277

https://www.quora.com/Can-I-choose-what-high-school-to-go-as-a-16-year-old-without-my-parents-consent

Tags: , ,
Click to listen highlighted text!